Christmas Movie Tournament: And the Winner is…

After a long and grueling week of battle between some Holiday Heavyweights, we finally have our winner for the Greatest Christmas of all the times! We want to thank everyone who voted and for a great turnout. We will be having more tournaments throughout this next year, so check back often.

Alright, enough grandstanding and on to the winner!

And the winner is…


Die Hard is a 1988 American action thriller film directed by John McTiernan, written by Steven E. de Souza and Jeb Stuart. Based on Roderick Thorp’s 1979 novel Nothing Lasts Forever, it was produced by the Gordon Company and Silver Pictures, and distributed by 20th Century Fox. The film follows off-duty New York City Police Department officer John McClane (Bruce Willis) who is caught in a Los Angeles skyscraper on Christmas Eve during a heist led by criminal mastermind Hans Gruber (Alan Rickman).

Made for $28 million, Die Hard grossed over $141 million theatrically worldwide. Turning Willis into an action star, the film became a metonym for an action film in which a lone hero fights overwhelming odds. The film’s success spurred the creation of the Die Hard franchise, which includes four sequels, a number of video games, and a comic book. In 2017, it was selected for preservation in the United States National Film Registry. Die Hard has been named one of the best action and Christmas-themed films ever made.

Author: Vincent Kane

I hate things.