James Gunn Releases ‘The Suicide Squad’ Cast List

Director James Gunn took to Twitter to reveal the official cast for The Suicide Squad, a standalone sequel to 2016’s DC Extended Universe film Suicide Squad.

And if the tweet won’t load, here’s the picture showcasing all 24 actors confirmed to be involved in The Suicide Squad in some capacity.

While the majority of those actors have been cast in undisclosed roles, this news does finally confirm that a handful of Suicide Squad stars will return. Margot Robbie, Jai Courtney, Joel Kinnaman, and Viola Davis will reprise their roles as Harley Quinn, Captain Boomerang, Rick Flag, and Amanda Waller. Robbie will first return as Harley Quinn in next year’s Birds of Prey.

The post also confirms that a handful of Marvel Cinematic Universe stars will be making the jump to the DCEU. Michael Rooker, Sean Gunn, Nathan Fillion, David Dastmalchian, Idris Elba, and Taiki Waititi are all former Marvel actors who are set to headline (in various capacities) the film. None of these actors, save for Rooker and Elba, have had very large roles in the MCU, so hopefully Gunn has given them some material to really sink their teeth into.

The Suicide Squad hits theaters on August 6, 2021.

Who are you hoping this group of acclaimed actors are playing from DC Comics lore? Which actors will bite the dust and which ones will live for another mission?

Author: Marmaduke Karlston

"Wait a minute. Wait a minute Doc, uh, are you telling me you built a time machine... out of a DeLorean?"